Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Your Cart   |   Sign In   |   Register
Community Search
Sign In to Your Profile
Sign In securely
Latest News

5/16/2017 » 5/17/2017
2017 Day on Capitol Hill

5/23/2017 » 5/24/2017
PBFAA 35th Annual Expo Sponsor & Exhibitor News

NTS News
Blog Home All Blogs
Search all posts for:   


View all (127) posts »

Level I Course Provides Students with Opportunities for Advanced Certification

Posted By Jeaneen Bengtson, Friday, August 23, 2013
Updated: Tuesday, August 20, 2013

When beginning training at ESA’s National Training School (NTS), many students choose to start with the Certified Alarm Technician – (CAT) Level I course – also referred to as (CAT) Level I.

This 22-hour course, which is offered as instructor-led and online, gives students the technical knowledge and skills to perform entry-level duties as well as a foundation for pursuing future certifications.

To better help students understand what courses are required for additional certifications, NTS has developed a new Certification Road Map, which can be viewed and printed here. Here is an in-depth look at the advanced training opportunities that students have after completing (CAT) Level I.

Certified Fire Alarm Technician (CFAT) Level II Fire
Students seeking an in-depth understanding of fire alarm installation and the related codes should pursue the Certified Fire Alarm Technician status, also referred to as (CFAT) Level II Fire. The prerequisites for Level II Fire include taking the courses and passing the proctored exams for Level I, Fire Alarm Installation Methods (FAIM), Life Safety Code (LSC) or International Building Code (IBC), and having at least 24 months of field experience.

Here are the latest listings for the courses needed to attain (CFAT) Level II Fire: FAIM, LSC, IBC

Additionally, students who have at least 36 months of field experience and have attained the (CFAT) Level II Fire certification are eligible to take NTS’ newest course Professional Fire Alarm Design (PFAD). Upon completion of PFAD, students will earn the designation of a Certified Fire Alarm Designer (CFAD) Level III Fire.

Find upcoming classes for Level III Fire designation: PFAD

Certified Alarm Technician - (CAT) Level II
The designation of Certified Alarm Technician – (CAT) Level II can be earned by successfully completing (CAT) Level I, Advanced Intrusion Systems (AIS) and FAIM courses and passing the proctored exams and having at least 24 months of field experience. Students who meet these requirements will have a firm understanding of the inner-workings of both intrusion and fire systems.

Get on the road to Level II with these instructor-led classes: AIS, FAIM

Certified Service Technician (CST)
Students who successfully complete Level I, Advanced Intrusion Systems (AIS), FAIM, Troubleshooting, Service and Maintenance (TSM) courses, pass the proctored exams and have 24 months of field experience will achieve the Certified Service Technician Status. Along the path to CST, students will cultivate the skills required to design and maintain modern electronic life safety systems.

Take the next steps to achieve Certified Service Technician status: AIS, FAIM, TSM

Certified System Integrator (CSI)
To earn the status of Certified System Integrator (CSI), students must complete Level I, Fire Alarm Installation Methods (FAIM), Electronic Access Control (EAC), Video System Technologies (VST), pass each proctored exam and have at least 36 months of field experience. Through this training, students will develop an expanded knowledge of installation, service and maintenance of fire alarm systems; understand the theory and practical application of locks, door hardware and electronic access control; and be able to design and install a basic closed circuit television system (CCTV).

Find the classes needed to become a Certified System Integrator: FAIM, EAC, VST

NTS strives to provide education pathways that meet the needs of their students. No matter what certifications students choose to pursue, they can rest-assured that they are getting the most comprehensive, effective and available training in the industry. To see a complete list of courses and certifications, click here.

Tags:  certifications  Level I  NTS  training 

Permalink | Comments (0)